

Committee and date Council

24 June 2010

10.00 a.m.

Item No

15

Public

COMMUNITY GOVERNANCE REVIEWS

Responsible Officer Richard Thomas

Email: richard.thomas@shropshire.gov.uk Telephone: (01743) 252725

1.0 Summary

1.1 This report seeks members' approval for the renaming of the Minsterley Electoral Division and, subject to the Local Government Boundary Commission consenting, the inclusion of Weston Rhyn in the title of the Selattyn and Gobowen electoral division. Members are also requested to consent to Community Governance Reviews affecting each of the Oswestry/Oswestry Rural, Clun/Chapel Lawn and Market Drayton/Adderley/Moreton Say to regularise electoral boundary matters.

2.0 Recommendations

2.1 It is recommended:

- (a) That, under the provisions of Section 59(4) of the Local Government Public Involvement in Health Act 2007 (the 2007 Act) and following receipt of consent from the Local Government Boundary Commission (the LGBC), this Council resolves to rename the Minsterley electoral division as the Rea Valley electoral division at a meeting specially convened for that purpose.
- (b) That members views on Weston Rhyn Parish Councils request that its name be added to the Selattyn and Gobowen electoral division be requested.
- (c) That to correct current electoral boundary irregularities, community governance reviews be undertaken in each of the Oswestry/Oswestry Rural, Clun/Chapel Lawn and Market Drayton/Adderley/Moreton Say parish/town council areas.

REPORT

3.0 Change of Name from Minsterley to Rea Valley Division

- 3.1 Following a joint request from the Pontesbury and Minsterley parish councils and a survey of all households in the division, the Council has been advised that the LGBC consents to the Council resolving to change the name of the Minsterley electoral division to the Rea Valley electoral division.
- 3.2 As Section 59(4) of the 2007 Act requires a formal resolution to be made at a special meeting convened for this purpose, a special meeting will be held immediately on the rising of this meeting.
- 3.3 The change of name will take effect once the LGBC confirms receipt of the formal notification.

4.0 Weston Rhyn/Selattyn and Gobowen

- 4.1 The West Rhyn Parish Council has requested the name of the Selattyn and Gobowen electoral division to be amended to include a reference to Weston Rhyn. This is not something that the Council can agree to do within five years of the making of the Order establishing the current electoral arrangements without the prior consent of the LGBC.
- 4.2 Subject to the Council's approval, the LGBC will need to be convinced that the other parish councils and the people living in that area do not object to this proposed change. The views of the Selattyn and Gobowen Parish Council have been sought and are awaited. Assuming a positive response is received, then a household survey will be required to determine whether there is any serious opposition to the proposals.
- 4.3 Members views on the proposed change are requested.

5.0 Clun/Chapel Lawn

- 5.1 A request has been received from the Clun Parish Council via the Chirbury and Worthen and Clun Local Joint Committee for the discontinuance of the Clun Parish ward of Chapel Lawn and a reorganisation of the electoral arrangements within the parish.
- 5.2 As this relates to an internal parish ward boundary, the Council has the power under the 2007 Act without recourse to the LGBC to amend the electoral arrangements following a community governance review.
- 5.3 Members are requested to confirm that they are content for a Community Governance Review to be undertaken for this purpose.

6.0 Oswestry/Oswestry Rural

- 6.1 Some residents of Trefonen Road and Broomhall Close, Oswestry complained that the last two elections about the distance they were required to travel to Selattyn to cast their vote in person when their neighbours have the convenience of a Polling Station less than half a mile from their home.
- 6.2 The cause of the problem is the location of the joint Oswestry Town/Oswestry Rural Parish Council boundary which bisects the Trefonen Road and Broomhall Close area and divides the community electorally between the Oswestry South and Selattyn and Gobowen electoral divisions. The 27 households which are currently in the Selattyn and Gobowen electoral division consider themselves to be residents of Oswestry, but are unable to vote in any election affecting the town.
- 6.3 Prior contact with the Electoral Commission has revealed that this matter could be addressed by conducting a Community Governance Review under Section 93 of the 2007 Act to enable the electors to be transferred between parishes. Once the Council has made such an Order, it can then ask the LGBC to make a related alteration to the Unitary Council electoral division boundaries, thereby making them coterminous with the parish council boundaries once again.
- 6.4 If members support this change, then the first task will be to consult all the electors involved to determine if they consent to the parish boundary being modified. Assuming that this is their wish, the Council would then be required to provide the LGBC with such electoral information as is required to convince it that the change would not be sufficient to trigger an electoral review of a much greater area.
- 6.5 Concern has also been raised over the current electoral arrangements for Oswestry Town Council which currently has six wards each electing three members to the Town Council. As can be seen from the table below, there are significant variations in the ward electorates:

Ward Name	Electorate
Cabin Lane	1935
Cambrian	1937
Castle	3186
Carret Llwyd	2342
Gateacre	658
Maserfield	2908

6.6 This matter needs to be addressed in advance of the 2013 Local Government elections to ensure that each vote cast is of equal value and is a matter which the Council is able to address without reference to the LGBC. However, for the sake of convenience and economy, the possibility of combining a Community Governance Review of the electoral arrangements affecting the Oswestry Town Council and also the location of the mutual boundary between Oswestry Town and Oswestry Rural Parish Council is being explored with the LGBC.

7.0 Market Drayton/Adderley

- 7.1 Local Market Drayton members have requested a change to the Market Drayton Town/Adderley Parish Council boundaries which are coterminous with the Market Drayton (West) electoral divisional boundary. The purpose of the change concerns planned development around the intersection of the A53 and A529 and would affect very few households.
- 7.2 However, preliminary discussions with the Electoral Commission have not been positive. Officials have stated that the Council would need strong evidence to justify any amendment to the electoral arrangements in this area.
- 7.3 Further, while the Council may request a boundary review, the prospect of it happening quickly appears remote.

List of Background Papers (This MUST be completed for all reports, but does not include items containing exempt or confidential information)

Human Rights Act Appraisal

The recommendations contained in this report are compatible with the provisions of the Human Rights act 1998

Environmental Appraisal

N/A

Risk Management Appraisal

N/A

Community / Consultations Appraisal

All communities affected will be consulted before any changes are made.

Cabinet Member

Keith Barrow

Local Member

Appendices

None